How-to setup Seneca LearnID @myseneca.ca with Email Clients and Devices (e.g. Android, iOS, Windows, etc)

Recently Seneca dropped the mail server (@learn.senecac.on.ca) used for students and adapted a business account with Outlook Office 365 (@myseneca.ca) which has replaced the previous IMAP/POP settings for synchronizing your email and also added a nice 25 GB cap.

Thankfully the TLS authentication is an optional configuration (a vulnerability in TLS renegotiations was discovered) and now we have Exchange support for all devices which I highly recommend for your configuration. If you aren’t sure how the mail protocols work or haven’t taken OPS335, this is a good read to get you started but essentially:
Exchange: Support for syncing/pushing email/calendar/contacts, time-framed email syncing plus enhanced Android control allowing for text-messaging syncing and device security via security update (not sure about iOS)
IMAP: Syncs the same mailbox(s) across all devices
POP3: Each POP3 device receives an email and read notifications aren’t synced, I would not recommend POP3 but I’m sure some people still use it.
Exchange
Server name: outlook.office365.com
Domain: Blank
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Encryption method: SSL (Accept all SSL certificates)
Port: 443
*If you configure this on an android device, you’ll get a request to install a security update, once this is done, you can go to the Settings/Options/Phone in your Seneca mailbox online and wipe/lock your phone remotely or enable SMS syncing which allows you to receive texts to your Seneca inbox and also reply with emails which will be sent as texts.
If you don’t have support for Exchange, use IMAP:
 
IMAP
Server name: outlook.office365.com
Domain: Blank
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Encryption method: SSL (Accept all SSL certificates)
Port: 993
 
SMTP
Server name: smtp.office365.com
Domain: Blank
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Encryption method: TLS
Port: 587
 
 
These default settings are easy to remember and should always work but if the office365 server alias isn’t working or should you want to use POP3 messaging, the details for manually configuring the mail server are below:
 
Exchange setting (Incoming/Outgoing)
*Server name: by2prd0710.outlook.com or pod51018.outlook.com
Domain: Blank
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Encryption method: SSL
FIXED *Ideally the server would be office.outlook365.com and the username would be your learnID but this configuration failed on my Android device and thus I used a blank domain with success, if you have an iOS device and this setup fails, try separating the domain and username.
*POP setting (Incoming)
Server name: pod51018.outlook.com
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Port: 995
Encryption method: SSL
*Keep in mind POP servers remove the original copy of the message when downloading to a mail client disabling the ability to sync across multiple devices.
IMAP setting (Incoming)
Server name: pod51018.outlook.com
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Port: 993
Encryption method: SSL
SMTP setting (Outgoing)
Server name: pod51018.outlook.com
Username: learnid@myseneca.ca
Port: 587
*Encryption method: TLS
Uses Authentication: Yes
*Due to the vulnerability I mentioned, Microsoft Windows 8 (and likely Windows devices) do not support TLS on SMTP configured clients and will be able to receive but not send email.

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Computers, Mail and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. 🙂 Very useful info.

  2. Nice guide. After selecting exchange on my iPhone 4, it filled in all the specs for me. I double checked here to make sure it matched.

  3. I can’t tell you how glad I am that you posted this info and that I came across it. I’ve been goin nuts trying to get this to work on my iPhone 4. I have no idea where that server name comes from nor that my username Had to be the full address and not just my learnID. I kept using the pod51018 server. I’m sure there are lots of other students who would be interested to know this stuff too.

  4. I’m not Sure what’s wrong but it isn’t working on my HTC One. 😦

  5. Hey thank you very much for sharing, but I am having trouble setting up the exchange email account on my iPhone. I have no problem setting up using the IMAP method.

    I think the exchange server might have changed? because on another tutorial from youtube their server is: ch1prd0711.outlook.com but neither of these server works.

    • never mind, I have just found out the server should be: outlook.office365.com

      • Correct, the default outlook server is “outlook.office365.com” but the server “by2prd0710.outlook.com” is where we are forwarded to from outlook.office365.com, the reason I did not post the default server-name because we weren’t yet “recognized” in outlook’s server and many people were getting errors when attempting to use that address.

    • heh. I’m sure you figured this out KC

  6. Thank you, this is super!

  7. Is it possible to synchronize seneca mail with any android application ..so that every time it just pops up on my screen? Outlook app or anything else?

  8. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

  9. This article will help the internet users for building up new website or even a blog from start to end.

  10. Muzammel Mukul

    Thanks a lot. I tried a lot but failed. Now its working perfectly on my device

Leave a comment